Arts and Music

10/24/2016 - 12:01pm

The University of North Texas Opera and Symphony Orchestra will present Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro, “The Marriage of Figaro,” a comedic tale of love, infidelity and forgiveness. Directed by David Ward and conducted by Stephen Dubberly, the performances will take place at 8 p.m. Nov. 4 and 11 and 3 p.m. Nov. 6 and 13 in the Lyric Theater at the Murchison Performing Arts Center.

10/20/2016 - 12:29pm

The University of North Texas will present the classic play, The Siege of Numantia (El Cerco de Numancia) by Miguel de Cervantes, with some innovative twists. The play depicts how villagers react when the Roman Army comes into their Spanish town of Numantia in 133 B.C. 

10/19/2016 - 1:15pm

Malcon Pierce, who works as an animator for Walt Disney Animation Studios, will speak in the Department of Media Arts at the University of North Texas about the upcoming film “Moana.” Pierce was the supervisor of animation for the film and will give students a behind-the-scenes look at production. He will follow up with a Q&A session.

10/19/2016 - 11:52am

Author Richard Gonzales will be part of the annual Texas Book Festival following the recent release of “Raza Rising: Chicanos in North Texas,” which was edited by UNT associate professor Roberto Calderon and published by UNT Press.

10/17/2016 - 4:10pm

In 1990, an upstart sketch comedy company began playing some of the hottest venues in the Chicago comedy scene. The group landed a recurring spot on Late Night with Conan O’Brien, and came to be known as The Upright Citizens Brigade. UCB’s touring company comes to the UNT University Union Lyceum Nov. 17.

10/11/2016 - 1:34pm

The University of North Texas Institute for Advancement of the Arts, along with the College of Music, are presenting SatieRicon: Erik Satie at 150, a festival exploring the music of the late French composer and pianist.

10/11/2016 - 9:29am

A class at the University of North Texas’ College of Visual Arts and Design will show off its latest artwork at UNT on the Square — and learn a few things in preparation for their professional career. 

10/05/2016 - 2:38pm

A parade, picnic, field day and an evening honoring distinguished alumni are just some of the events scheduled for the University of North Texas' Homecoming to take place Oct. 31 – Nov. 5 (Monday – Saturday). This year's theme is "Mean Green Eaglempics.”

10/05/2016 - 8:56am

When Nike hired video blogger Casey Neistat to make a video about what it means to “Make It Count,” the result was a video that reached more than 1.5 million YouTube views in three days. Neistat, who has nearly 5 million YouTube subscribers will discuss his life, work and videography with University of North Texas students on Oct. 26.

10/04/2016 - 12:43pm

As robots become increasingly common in everyday life, so will interactions between humans and robots. To address that future, the xREZ Art + Science Lab at the University of North Texas will host “Bonding with Bots: The Future of Human-Robot Interaction,” the inaugural event of North Texas Leonardo Art/Science Evening Rendezvous.