Social Science


The ambassadors of Afghanistan and Pakistan to the U.S. will be among the speakers at the first South Asia Peace Conference at UNT Nov. 5-6.


The partnership will help advance state research priorities by connecting valuable public health information with academic researchers.


The 17th annual International Conference of the Society for Philosophy and Technology will cover military technology, cybersecurity, environmental and energy security, cultural and political implications of technology in developing nations.


The program was developed in response to a new certification category approved by the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification, and UNT's certification program is the first of its kind in Texas.


The Third Jihad: Radical Islam's Vision for America, a 2008 documentary film created to show how those who follow radical Islam are posing risks to individual liberties, women's rights and democracy, will be shown at UNT March 2.


Christopher Wall, a senior political science and economics major at UNT, has been named a Minority Fellow by the American Political Science Association for the 2011-2012 academic year.


The free event begins at 7 p.m. in the Lyceum on the third floor of UNT's University Union. Attendees will walk an Oscar-red carpet into the Lyceum, may enter raffles for prizes and snack on free food during the evening as they watch the previews. The UNT Glee Club will also perform.


The Castleberry Peace Institute will combine the strengths of the university's academic programs in peace studies with the strengths of Peacemakers in community networking and programming, including support of peace education in elementary and secondary schools.


Harrison Wicks has been selected to attend an intensive history program offered by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.


Eric Schlosser, author of the bestselling book Fast Food Nation will discuss how food issues apply to sustainability at the university's distinguished lecture series April 21.