UNT appoints Ligon, Cox interim deans

Thursday, August 28, 2014 - 09:12

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- Two University of North Texas faculty members and current administrators – Eric Ligon and Dr. Gloria Cox – have been named interim deans for the College of Visual Arts and Design and the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science respectively, by Dr. Warren Burggren, UNT provost and vice president for academic affairs.

"Eric and Gloria bring an unusual degree of experience and expertise to their new roles," said Burggren. "Both Eric's and Gloria's history with the university will provide important continuity for students, faculty and staff in this transitional period as we continue national searches for new deans for the College of Visual Arts and Design and the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science."

Ligon has been serving as Associate Dean for Academic and Administrative Affairs, in the College of Visual Arts and Design since 2011. He has been a faculty member of the Communication Design program in the College of Visual Arts and Design for 23 years, having joined UNT in 1988 as a teaching fellow.

Ligon received his Master of Fine Arts degree in 1997 from UNT and his bachelor's degree in communication design from Pratt Institute.

Ligon also serves as faculty member in residence in Honors Hall. He, his wife and two teenage sons sold their four-bedroom Denton home in 2012 and moved into a two-bedroom apartment in Honors Hall -- home to 200 students in UNT's Honors College for academically talented students. As the faculty member in residence, Ligon involves students in after-hours activities such as scholarly discussions and one-on-one meetings with students. He and his family often invite students and other faculty members to gather around their table for family dinners.

While serving as interim dean of TAMS, Cox will continue to serve as dean of the UNT Honors College, a post she has held since 2005 when the college was formed.

Cox joined the UNT faculty in 1990 as a visiting assistant professor in Political Science. She became an associate professor in the department in 1997 and often taught TAMS students. In 1995, Cox became the director of the Office of Academic Core Programs. Under her direction, the Classic Learning Core evolved into the University Honors Program, the forerunner to the Honors College, which was established in 2005 and now has 2,000 members.

In 2004, Cox was presented with the President's Award from UNT for her efforts to advance both the Honors Program and the National Student Exchange program. She also has received a number of other awards including the 'Fessor Graham Award in 2010. She received her bachelor's degree in secondary education, master's degree in political science and doctoral degree in political science from the University of South Carolina.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108


Latest News

Friday, September 19, 2014

Four internationally recognized artist/scholars will talk about how they combine technology, science and art as part of the Tactical Robotics Symposium: Latin American Media Art at the Intersection of the Pedagogy at the University of North Texas.

Educational researcher Michael Fullan, an internationally recognized expert on e
Friday, September 19, 2014

Educational researcher Michael Fullan, an internationally recognized expert on educational reform, will speak about "Leadership for Maximizing Impact in Schools and Districts" at this year's University of North Texas' Education Leadership Conference.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

A new program under development at the University of North Texas aims to increase the diversity of the rehabilitation counseling career field, while helping students complete an education and move into the profession in less time.

Richard Dixon
Wednesday, September 17, 2014

University of North Texas Distinguished Research Professor Richard Dixon has been named president-elect of the American Society of Plant Biologists.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Millions of devoted fans watch "Game of Thrones" and enjoy the book adapted by the television show, but those fans have nothing on the 300 visitors coming to UNT.