Vivian Castleberry named to Shuford Hall of Honor at Mayborn School of Journalism

Tuesday, April 2, 2013 - 15:13

DENTON (UNT), Texas — Vivian Castleberry, longtime women’s editor of the Dallas Times Herald who is also known for her work with Peacemakers Incorporated, has been named to the C.E. Shuford Hall of Honor at the University of North Texas’ Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism.

The Shuford Hall of Honor Award recognizes individuals for professional and educational lifetime achievement and distinguished contributions to the journalism profession. Named for C.E. “Pops” Shuford, who started the journalism program in 1945 at what was then North Texas State Teachers College, the award is the most prestigious award  given by the Mayborn School and has been presented annually since 1982. It is open to those who are not alumni of UNT and did not attend the university. 

Castleberry will receive her award during the Mayborn School’s awards ceremony April 17. Past Shuford Hall of Honor recipients include WFAA-TV anchor John McCaa, longtime PBS host and Pulitzer Prize winner Bill Moyers, Fort Worth Star-Telegram editors Bob Ray Sanders and Jack Tinsley, and three Associated Press reporters.

Castleberry was the women’s editor of the Dallas Times Herald for 28 years and was the first woman named to the paper's editorial board. She won numerous journalism awards, including three Katie awards from the Press Club of Dallas, two state United Press International awards, a state Headliners award and the Buck Marryat Award given by the Press Club of Dallas for outstanding contributions to communications.

A founder of the Women’s Center in Dallas and The Family Place, which was the first women’s shelter in the city, Castleberry was chosen for the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame in 1984. In 1987, she created Peacemakers Incorporated, a nonprofit organization that sponsors international women’s peace conferences and other events. In 2010, UNT’s Peace Studies Program established the Castleberry Peace Institute in collaboration with Peacemakers, to combine the strengths of the academic programs in peace studies with Peacemakers’ strengths of community networking and programming. 

The Mayborn School will also recognize other influential individuals and companies during its April 17 event with these awards: 

Mayborn Medallion Award — Recognizes those who have engaged in partnership, collaboration or other efforts on behalf of the Mayborn School as a business entity.


  • WFAA-TV/Channel 8

Distinguished Professional Achievement — Recognizes individuals who are well known nationally or regionally in their professions and have had major influence on others in the profession.


  • Gloria Campos, award-winning anchor at WFAA-TV/Channel 8
  • Dennis D’Amico, executive director of the 4A’s Dallas Council, which serves American Association of Advertising Agencies member agencies in North Texas and Oklahoma
  • Chip Somodevilla, staff photographer for Getty Images and a 1995 graduate of UNT

Alumni Appreciation Award — Given to graduates or former students in the journalism program in recognition of long-term service to the program


  • Vinny Minchillo, principal of Glass House Strategy, a media agency in Plano, and a 1983 graduate of UNT

Career Service Recognition — Recognizes individuals who are successful in their professions and have given their valuable time to the Mayborn School by speaking to classes and/or student organizationsl


  • Eric Nadel, announcer for Texas Rangers radio broadcasts for 19 years and a member of the Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame
  • Simon Salt, chief executive officer of International IncSlingers, an integrated marketing communications agency in Austin

Rising Star Award — Given to graduates and former students of the journalism program who have been working in the field at least five years after graduating or leaving the program


  • Becky Holian Kimbro, vice president of marketing for the Texas Rangers and a 2009 UNT graduate
  • Andrew McLemore, editor of the Williamson County Sun and a 2010 UNT graduate

Super Alum Award — Recognizes graduates and former students of the journalism program who have provided service, such as being guest speakers to classes, advising student organizations, consistently posting jobs and internships on the Mayborn School’s website and mentoring current students.


  • Danny Fulgencio, director of multimedia for Advocate Media, which publishes four newspapers in Dallas neighborhoods. Fulgencio earned degrees from UNT in 2003 and 2010.
  • Sarah Perry, associate editor of Our State magazine in Greensboro, N.C. Perry earned degrees from UNT in 2008 and 2010
  • Jeff Schick, director of integrated digital strategy for Online Performance Marketing, a digital marketing agency in Richardson. Schick is a 2002 graduate of UNT        

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108