UNT’s Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism invests in future communicators with $150K in scholarships

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 - 09:48

DENTON (UNT), Texas — The University of North Texas Frank W. Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism has awarded 16 incoming graduate students its most prestigious scholarship. 

The highly competitive Mayborn Graduate Scholarship supports recipients with up to $10,000 to pursue a master’s degree in journalism, paving their way to future media careers in news, public relations, advertising, photojournalism and broadcast news.

Past Mayborn Scholars have gone on to work for top state and national industry players such as “The New York Times” and “The Texas Tribune.” 

The institute, named for the late Texas newspaper publisher and civic leader Frank W. Mayborn, is a nationally accredited program that prepares students to practice, teach and conduct research in journalism and mass communication. Its students work in print and broadcast media, public relations agencies and various media communications organizations around the country.


  • Elise Adkins of Denton, Texas
  • Brianna Adams of Eastchester, New York
  • Simone Carter of Denton, Texas
  • Karan Muns of Argyle, Texas
  • Rebecca Najera of New London, Texas
  • Savannah Owens of Allen, Texas
  • Megan Martinez of El Paso, Texas
  • Tiffany Martinez of Grand Prairie, Texas
  • Brielle Thomas of Houston, Texas
  • Luisa Pinilla of Bogotá, Colombia
  • Rachel Linch of Flower Mound, Texas
  • Sean Riedel of Marion, Texas
  • Marcus Sykes of Dallas, Texas
  • Deken Taylor of Pittsburg, Texas
  • Brittany Vinson of Carrollton, Texas 
  • Kristen Watson of Waxahachie, Texas

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108