UNT students and faculty selected for Fulbright awards

Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 10:33

DENTON (UNT), Texas — Four students and a faculty member from the University of North Texas have earned awards from the prestigious Fulbright Program.

Since 1960, there have been more than 80 faculty named as UNT Fulbright Scholars and Specialists. There have been more than 50 UNT Fulbright Student Award winners since 1949.

“UNT students and faculty continue to have success in the Fulbright Program,” said Amanda White Bennett, director of global partnerships and engagement at UNT. “These awards offer enriching experiences and opportunities for our community members to be active citizens and leaders in the global community.”

For the 2021-2022 Fulbright U.S. Student Program awards, more than half of the UNT students selected as semi-finalists went on to earn the award.

2021-2022 award winners from UNT include:

Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award for Visual and Performing Arts

  • Dave Meder, assistant professor of jazz piano in the UNT College of Music. Meder will travel to Egypt next spring to explore and refine his own teaching methodology of jazz improvisation with students at the Cairo Conservatoire.

Fulbright U.S. Student Awards

  • Olivia Augustat, English Teaching Assistantship Program, Germany
  • Bree Nichols, Study/Research Program, Czech Republic
  • Jenna Reid, English Teaching Assistantship Program, Germany
  • Kylee Whitworth, English Teaching Assistantship Program, Taiwan

Established in 1946 by Senator J. William Fulbright, the Fulbright Program aims to increase the mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries through international educational exchange programs. The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. It provides research, study, teaching and other collaborative opportunities for U.S. students (graduating seniors, current graduate students and alumni) and U.S. faculty, staff and recent post-docs along with opportunities for U.S. institutions to host visiting Fulbright Scholars from around the world.

UNT faculty and students who are interested in applying should email Fulbright@unt.edu.

Fulbright application deadlines

Fulbright Scholar: annual submission deadline in mid-September (2022-2023 awards: Sept. 15, 2021)

Fulbright Specialist: six application deadlines each year (next application deadline: Nov. 9, 2021)

Fulbright U.S. Student: annual submission deadline in mid-October (2022-2023 awards: Oct. 12, 2021)

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108