UNT Regents Professor earns prestigious American Chemical Society award

Thursday, September 11, 2014 - 17:46

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- University of North Texas Regents Professor of Chemistry Angela Wilson has been named the 2015 Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal recipient by the American Chemical Society. The third oldest chemistry award in the U.S, this honor recognizes top women chemists for distinguished service and contributions to the field of chemistry.

Wilson joins an impressive list of recipients including National Academy Science members, National Academy of Engineers members, and a Nobel Laureate. Chemists in academia, government laboratories and industry, with focus ranging from technical management to research to education, are considered for this award.

A Fellow of the American Chemical Society, American Physical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science and National Associate of the U.S. National Academies, Wilson leads a research team that develops and utilizes computational chemistry approaches to predict accurate thermodynamics, which is critical to understanding chemical reactivity.

UNT has built one of the largest computational chemistry programs in the United States as a result of Wilson's dedication and the university's commitment to invest in high performance computing.

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108