UNT faculty member receives teaching award from American Political Science Association

Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 13:22

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- John Ishiyama, University Distinguished Research Professor of political science at the University of North Texas, has received the Distinguished Teaching Award from the American Political Science Association.

Founded in 1903, the American Political Science Association is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 13,000 members in more than 80 countries. The APSA Distinguished Teaching Award honors an outstanding contribution to undergraduate and graduate teaching of political science at a two- or four-year institution, with the contribution spanning an entire career or several years, or resulting from a single project of exceptional impact. The award includes a $1,000 prize that is the result of an endowment created by APSA members.

The award committee noted that Ishiyama, who has held the title of University Distinguished Research Professor since 2012, has an "outstanding record of care, concern and craft." The committee also described him as "a nationally and internationally acclaimed scholar and leader" with a record demonstrating "great love for teaching and mentoring as well as outstanding commitment to scholarship and service."

Ishiyama was previously honored by APSA in 2012 with its Political Science Education Distinguished Service Award. He also received the Heinz Eulau Award in 2010 for the best research article that appeared in an APSA journal. In 2009, he was honored by the International Studies Association with the Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar Award.

He joined the UNT Department of Political Science faculty in 2008. Ishiyama is currently a faculty associate at the Castleberry Peace Institute, which is housed in the department, and lead editor and editor-in-chief of the American Political Science Review, which is sponsored by APSA and has held its editorial offices at UNT since 2012. Before his association with the American Political Science Review, he was the founder and editor-in-chief of the Journal of Political Science Education. Ishiyama was also one of the founders of the APSA Teaching and Learning Conference.

Since 2010, he has directed UNT's summer Research Experience for Undergraduates, which is funded by a National Science Foundation grant and provides students with research experience in conflict management and peace science. Ishiyama was recognized by UNT's Ronald E. McNair Program with its 2014 Outstanding Service Award, by the UNT College of Arts and Sciences with its 2014 Research Excellence Award and by the UNT Honors College with its 2013 Eagle Feather Research Mentor of the Year award. He also received UNT's Ulys and Vera Knight Faculty Mentor Award in 2014.

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108