Outstanding UNT faculty honored during fourth annual awards dinner

Tuesday, September 29, 2015 - 13:19

What: Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards Dinner & Ceremony

When: 6:30 p.m. Oct. 2 (Friday)

Where: Apogee Stadium, Club Level

Cost: $35

More information: Register for the dinner

DENTON (UNT), Texas – Three University of North Texas' professors and a lecturer will be among more than 25 educators celebrated for their dedication to excellence through research, service and education.

These awards presented during the fourth annual Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards Dinner & Ceremony will be presented at 6:30 p.m. Oct. 2 (Friday) in the club level of Apogee Stadium, 1251 S. Bonnie Brae in Denton.

Scientist Angela Wilson, political science expert David Mason, musical/cultural educator Donna Emmanuel and studio artist Lesli Robertson are being awarded UNT System's highest honors.

Angela Wilson

Wilson is being awarded the Eminent Faculty Award. She will receive a $15,000 check, commemorative engraved gift and the honor of being an Eminent Faculty Award. For more than 15 years, Wilson educated students in chemistry prior to being elevated to Associate Vice Provost for Faculty this semester. This is Wilson's sixth award from UNT. The National Academy of Sciences and American Chemical Society Younger Chemists Committee previously honored her for her contributions to the science field. She's served as a fellow with the U.S. Department of Energy and the American Chemical Society.

David Mason

As the newest Faculty Leadership Award recipient, Mason is being recognized for improving the world through nonviolent resolutions. Mason is Director of UNT's Castleberry Peace Institute. It is the first institute in the state, designed to foster discussion regarding democracy, human rights and the role of women in those roles. Mason has written extensively regarding economic trade issues in Southeast Asia and international civil wars. Pi Sigma Alpha, the political science honor society, honored Mason in 2002 for an article he co-wrote, "Support for the Hooks Symposium."

Donna Emmanuel

The Faculty Community Service Award that Emmanuel is being honored with highlights her tireless work to build partnerships with community organizations in the Latin community and UNT. She divides her time between teaching and serving as a director of the Division of Community Engagement. Emmanuel is the author of more than a dozen articles regarding why it is so important for people to be intercultural competent.

Lesli Robertson

Robertson is the newest awardee to be honored with the Outstanding Lecturer Award, the highest honor awarded to UNT lecturers. For the past decade Robertson has worked in-depth in Uganda developing weaving curriculum for young woman and learning the lost art of Bark Cloth, a thick, yet soft textured fabric. Robertson has served as a senior lecturer at UNT since 2011.

Mason, Emmanuel and Robertson will each receive a $5,000 check and commemorative gift.

More than 25 professors will be honored during the evening. Professors will be bestowed with Regent Professor Awards, Research Awards, Teaching Awards and Service Awards. These awards are funded by UNT Foundation and conclude a week-long celebration of UNT's faculty members.

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108