Exemplary educators honored for faculty excellence by UNT

Monday, August 11, 2014 - 17:45

DENTON, Texas (UNT) – Three University of North Texas faculty members will receive UNT's highest faculty awards in recognition of their excellence in teaching, scholarly research and community service. The awards are among the approximately three dozen honors that will be given to faculty members and the more than 70 faculty promotions in rank and/or recipients of tenure. Recipients will be honored Sept. 22-26 (Monday to Friday) during a week-long series of events that culminates in an evening celebration.

The Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards Dinner and Ceremony will be held at 6:30 p.m. on Sept. 26 (Friday) on the club level of Apogee Stadium, located at 1251 S. Bonnie Brae in Denton. The ceremony is supported by the UNT Foundation, which accepts, invests, and manages private gifts, endowed funds and other assets for the benefit of the university, including faculty and students.

Richard Rogers, Mark Vosvick and Stanley R. Ingman will receive UNT Foundation awards, the evening's top awards.

Rogers, Regents Professor of psychology, will receive the Eminent Faculty Award from the UNT Foundation and the title of "eminent faculty." Rogers joined UNT in 1991, and he has been recognized nationally for his major contributions to forensic psychology and psychiatry. His research has been honored for examining the intricacies of Miranda warnings and common pitfalls in Miranda reasoning. In particular, the American Bar Association has extensively cited his research in calling for national reforms in juvenile Miranda warnings. For the last decade, he has continued to serve as the principal investigator on National Science Foundation grants to evaluate Miranda rights and waivers. Additionally, he is the third psychologist in the American Psychological Association's history to receive both the award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Applied Research and the award for the Distinguished Professional Contributions in the Public Policy.

Vosvick, who began teaching at UNT in 2002, is an associate professor of psychology and will receive the Faculty Leadership Award from the UNT Foundation. His research examines stress and coping mechanisms used by HIV-positive patients marginalized in society due to their sexual, gender or racial/ethnic minority status, and he develops interventions to enhance wellness in these populations. Vosvick served as chair of the UNT Faculty Senate from 2012 to 2014 and was instrumental in the UNT Libraries' acquisition of the archives of the Resource Center Dallas that trace 60 years of the history of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender social movements in the North Texas region. Vosvick is also the director for UNT's Center for Psychosocial Health Research and director of the LGBT Studies Program at UNT.

Ingman, professor of public affairs and community service and former director of the UNT Center for Public Service, will receive the Community Engagement Award from the UNT Foundation. Ingman, who specializes in applied gerontology, joined UNT in 1990 and almost immediately established the Texas Institute for Research and Education for Aging at UNT and at the UNT Health Science Center in Fort Worth. His work in the Denton and Dallas areas on community programs for public housing, building sustainable neighborhoods, afterschool care and preschool immunization has received several national grants. As a principal investigator for more than two dozen studies, Ingman has received approximately $6 million in research funding, allowing partnerships with his work to be developed in several other states and in Mexico.

Three UNT professors nominated for the U.S. Professor of the Year award, a national honor saluting the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country, will also be recognized at this showcase event. The professors are Gopala Ganesh, University Distinguished Teaching Professor of marketing and logistics; Lee Hughes, associate professor of biological sciences; and John Quintanilla, professor of mathematics.

To see a complete list of faculty members who will be lauded for their accomplishments, visit http://facultysuccess.unt.edu/salute-faculty-excellence-2014-winners. To see the complete list of faculty members receiving tenure and promotion, visit http://facultysuccess.unt.edu/2014-newly-promotedtenured-faculty.

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108