Dallas Mayor Mike Rawlings named to Shuford Hall of Honor at Mayborn School of Journalism

Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 19:08

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- Dallas Mayor Mike Rawlings has been named to the C.E. Shuford Hall of Honor at the University of North Texas' Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism.

The Shuford Hall of Honor Award recognizes individuals for professional and educational lifetime achievement and distinguished contributions to the journalism profession. Named for C.E. "Pops" Shuford, who started the journalism program in 1945 at what was then North Texas State Teachers College, it is the most prestigious award given by the Mayborn School and has been presented annually since 1982. It is open to anyone who has made an impact on the journalism profession.

Rawlings will receive his award April 16 (Wednesday) during the Mayborn School's awards ceremony, Celebrate Mayborn, Past Shuford Hall of Honor recipients include WFAA-TV anchor John McCaa, longtime PBS host and Pulitzer Prize winner Bill Moyers and Fort Worth Star-Telegram editors Bob Ray Sanders and Jack Tinsley.

Rawlings is the former chief executive officer of Tracy-Locke, once the largest advertising agency in the South. He worked his way up in the advertising industry after arriving in Dallas in 1976 with $200 in his pockets. The mayor has lead several major initiatives to promote development in South Dallas and prevent domestic violence.

The theme of Celebrate Mayborn this year is Future of Mayborn 2014 and Beyond. The theme is tied to celebrating success of the Mayborn School's students, alumni and corporate partners.

Dorothy Bland, dean of the Mayborn School, said she is honored and proud to celebrate these successes, "and know that we'll have even more to celebrate in the years ahead."

During the ceremony, more than 45 students will receive scholarships. The school several influential individuals will also receive awards. These awards include these awards:

Mayborn Medallion Award -- Recognizes those who have engaged in partnership, collaboration or other efforts on behalf of the Mayborn School as a business entity.


Frank Mihalopoulos, Corinth Properties

Distinguished Professional Achievement -- Recognizes individuals who are well known nationally or regionally in their professions and have had major influence on others in the profession.


George Foster, chief executive officer of Foster Marketing, the world's largest oil and gas marketing communications firm, and a 1972 graduate of UNT

Alumni Appreciation Award -- Given to graduates or former students in the journalism program in recognition of long-term service to the program.


Randy Galloway, sports columnist for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram

UNT News Service
(940) 565-2108