UNT TAMS student wins $100,000 science scholarship

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- A student at the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science at the University of North Texas won a $100,000 scholarship for his groundbreaking research on cancer treatments.

Sahil Khetpal, 17, of Plano, was one of 10 students nationwide and the only Texas student to win the Proton Energy Scholarship at the recent NHA Hydrogen Conference and Expo in California.

Sponsored by global hydrogen leader Proton Energy Systems, which is owned by entrepreneur Tom Sullivan and administered by the Hydrogen Education Foundation, the Proton Energy Scholarship recognizes and awards high school seniors who demonstrate outstanding achievement, excellence and promise in the fields of science or technology, and who plan to pursue higher education in these areas.

Sullivan initially planned to award only the top winner the $100,000 prize but instead gave each student the scholarship, saying all 10 students show tremendous promise in the fields of science and technology.

For his research, Khetpal designed and synthesized a novel carbon nanotube-based drug delivery system for tumor-targeted chemotherapy and thermal ablation of cancer cells. Carbon nanotubes, or hollow cylinders of carbon atoms, have immense potential in the combat against cancer. Because the system is designed to specifically target cancer cells, it would lower the severe side effects of conventional chemotherapy.

In addition, Khetpal investigated the use of a special carbon nanotube as a means to detect cancer at an earlier stage. Khetpal worked with Dr. Iwao Ojima at Stony Brook University in New York.

Khetpal's research also earned him recognition as a finalist for the Siemens Competition, the nation's leading original research competition in math, science and technology.

Before coming to TAMS, he attended Jasper High School in Plano. In the fall, Khetpal plans to attend the University of Pennsylvania and major in finance and chemical engineering.

About TAMS

TAMS is a two-year residential program at UNT that allows exceptionally talented students to complete their freshman and sophomore years of college while receiving the equivalent of high school diplomas. Students enroll in the academy following their sophomore year in high school, live in a UNT residence hall and attend UNT classes with college students. After two years, they enroll at UNT or another university to finish their bachelor's degrees.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108


Latest News

Wally Linebarger
Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Seven films created by UNT students who are earning the Department of Radio, Television and Film's Master of Fine Arts degree in documentary film will be shown May 1 (Thursday) at UNT.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

When Josh Gordesky learned that the UNT College of Information would be offering its doctoral degree program in learning technologies mostly online, he knew it was the right academic program for him.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Children in grades 8 through 12 can now register for summer camps in the University of North Texas College of Engineering, focusing on robotics, video and computer game development, mobile applications and computer science and engineering.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Katie Koestner, a date rape survivor, will speak at the University of North Texas as a part of Sexual Assault Awareness Month activities. The speech will take place at 7 p.m. on April 22 (Tuesday) in the Volleyball Gym located at 1536 S. Bonnie Brae, Building H, Denton.

Six-year old Ryan Lingo relaxes with his mother, Lucia Lingo, at Easter Seals No
Monday, April 21, 2014

Yummy Starts, a healthy eating program geared for kids with autism spectrum disorder, is helping kids with extreme selective eating habits. It's one of four behavioral intervention services offered at the Easter Seals North Texas Autism Treatment Program, a collaboration between the University of North Texas Department of Behavior Analysis and Easter Seals.