UNT Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship hosting Jeb Bush as keynote speaker for 2011 Leadership Luncheon

Craig Hall
Craig Hall
Jeb Bush
Former Governor of Florida Jeb Bush will be the keynote speaker at the 2011 UNT Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship Leadership Luncheon.
Tuesday, November 8, 2011

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- Former Governor of Florida Jeb Bush will be the keynote speaker at the 2011 UNT Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship Leadership Luncheon, where Dallas business leader Craig Hall, chairman and founder of Hall Financial Group, will receive the Murphy Award for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship.

The Leadership Luncheon will last from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on Nov. 18, 2011, at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas. This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Leadership Luncheon.

"We are thrilled to have Jeb Bush as our keynote speaker this year, since he is not only a great political leader but also an advocate for education and entrepreneurship," said Tony Mendes, director of the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship.

Each year at the Leadership Luncheon the prestigious Murphy Award is presented to a deserving business leader, honoring lifetime achievement in entrepreneurship. Past Murphy Award recipients include Trammell Crow, H. Ross Perot, Ebby Halliday, Herb Kelleher and Sam Wyly.

"I am extremely honored to be recognized by UNT with this important award," Hall said. "The educational programs and collaborative networks established through The Murphy Center are important to the growth of individual businesses, to our economy, and to the spirit and understanding of entrepreneurship as a whole."

Hall's career in business, as an author, civic leader and philanthropist reflects the highest qualities of entrepreneurship. He formed Hall Financial Group in 1968 at 18-years-old with $4,000 saved from small ventures he began at the age of 10. Today, Hall Financial Group's diversified business interests include real estate ownership, development and management; software application development; structured finance lending for real estate and other areas; vineyards and wineries; and oil and gas.

Previously, Hall was part owner of the Dallas Cowboys; formed one of the first stock savings and loans in Michigan; founded one of the first for-profit HMOs in the country; and participated in growing the nation's largest chain of health and sports clubs.

Hall actively supports new entrepreneurs, and often speaks publicly about the importance of encouraging entrepreneurship worldwide. He also lends his entrepreneurial expertise to nurture young companies.

The Leadership Luncheon has been an annual event for the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship since 2002. Past speakers include H. Ross Perot, George Foreman and Nolan Ryan.

Proceeds from the Leadership Luncheon are used for scholarships, student awards and programs offered through the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship. Each year at the luncheon student scholarships are awarded, donors are recognized and winners of the Center's New Venture Creation Contest are announced.

The Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship, housed in UNT's College of Business, opened its doors in 2000 with a $1 million donation from Ken and the late Shirley Murphy, founders and owners of The Mail Box. The center encourages entrepreneurship by providing students with counseling, mentoring and training opportunities that help them turn ideas into viable business entities.

More information on the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship and the Leadership Luncheon can be found at the Murphy Center web site.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108