UNT faculty member named Outstanding Educator by George Bush Presidential Library and Museum

George Getschow
George Getschow, principal lecturer at UNT's Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism
Friday, April 4, 2014 - 10:26

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- George Getschow, principal lecturer at the University of North Texas' Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism, will receive a George Bush Presidential Library and Museum Outstanding Educator Award from former First Lady Barbara Bush April 10 (Thursday).

The Outstanding Educator Awards are presented to individuals who consistently support the enrichment and creativity of students through outstanding dedication, inspiration and encouragement. Getschow, the writer-in-residence for the annual Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference, will receive one of five awards during a ceremony at the library and museum in College Station.

He is being honored for creating the conference's annual writing competition for high school and community college students ages 14 to 25. Since 2011, students from Texas and across the U.S. have entered biographies about those who have left lasting legacies in their communities or historical narratives -- accounts of historical events from those who witnessed them.

The 10 winning students receive free registration, hotel accommodations and meals to the Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference, which is hosted each July by the Mayborn School's Frank W. Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism. The students' work is also published on The Dallas Morning News website.
In 2011, Getschow formed a partnership with the Education Department of the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum, Biographers International and Big Thought to offer learning programs on literary nonfiction writing. Students and teachers from throughout Texas come to the library and museum each year for the programs, which are broadcast to students and teachers throughout the U.S. via videoconferencing and are also archived for later viewing. Past programs have been led by James McGrath Morris, author of Pulitzer: A Life in Politics, Print, and Power and executive director of Biographers International Organization, and Pulitzer Prize and Emmy Award-winning writer Ron Powers, author of Flags of Our Fathers and nine other books.

Getschow has taught at UNT since 2002. He has been writing professionally since 1972, when he was hired as a general assignment reporter for the Mason City Globe Gazette (Iowa). In 1974, he became a reporter at The Wall Street Journal's Chicago bureau, covering agriculture. He stayed with The Wall Street Journal for 16 years as a reporter, editor and bureau chief, working in the Dallas, Houston and Pittsburgh bureaus in addition to the Chicago bureau. As chief of the Houston and Dallas bureaus, he directed the newspaper's coverage of the Southwest and trained several reporters to become exceptional storytellers.

Getschow was a runner up for the Pulitzer Prize for national reporting in 1984 and received the first-place Robert F. Kennedy Award for "distinguished writing" about the underprivileged. He also received first place for best feature series from the National Council for the Advancement of Education Writing. In addition, some of his protégés have won Pulitzer Prizes, had their narratives published in anthologies and written literary nonfiction bestsellers. Getschow was inducted into the Texas Institute of Letters in 2010 and served as a juror in the Feature Writing category for the 2013 Pulitzer Prizes.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108


Latest News

Steve Wozniak
Thursday, July 24, 2014

Steve Wozniak, inventor, entrepreneur and philanthropist, will speak as part of the University of North Texas Distinguished Lecture Series.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Gulin "Eva" Gelogullari, native of the Black Sea Region of the Republic of Turkey, was named the Outstanding Foreign Student in North Texas for 2014 and awarded $2,500 scholarship

Monday, July 21, 2014

New UNT class explores dynamics of working with family.

Lynn Seaton
Monday, July 21, 2014

UNT College of Music jazz bass professor Lynn Seaton has been named a 2014-15 Fulbright Scholar and will depart in August for Latvia, where he will teach for the fall 2014 semester.

Monday, July 21, 2014

While the most elite college and university baseball players in the U.S. head to Omaha every summer for the College World Series, some of the most accomplished Hispanic high school seniors in the U.S. play their own series every summer -- the Collegiate World Series offered by the National Hispanic Institute, a nonprofit organization based in Texas.