Two UNT students named 2012 Barry M. Goldwater Scholars; third student receives honorable mention

Thursday, March 29, 2012

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- Two students in the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science at the University of North Texas were named 2012 Barry M. Goldwater Scholars, and a third academy student received an honorable mention in the prestigious research competition.

Goldwaters are considered to be among the country's most prestigious scholarships awarded to students planning careers in mathematics, science and engineering. All college sophomores and juniors are eligible to compete for the scholarships, which provide a maximum of $7,500 each year for one or two years to cover tuition, fees, books and room and board.

Favyen Bastani, of Plano, and Amanda Quay, of Austin, were among the 12 Texas students awarded scholarships this year. Mitchell Powell, of Plano, was among the seven Texas students to receive honorable mentions.

All three students are seniors at the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science, a two-year residential program at UNT that allows talented students to complete their freshman and sophomore years of college while earning their high school diplomas. Although the students are technically high school students; they have earned enough college credit to be classified as college sophomores, making them eligible to participate in the Goldwater Scholarship program. 

The University of North Texas has had 50 students – including the 2012 winners – win Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships since 1996. Universities may nominate up to four students for the award each year, and students are chosen on the basis of their scientific research, grade point averages and other achievements.


About the scholars

Favyen Bastani

A highly advanced undergraduate computer scientist, Bastani has worked extensively in two major research environments and has a co-authored an article (in press) for IEEE Transactions on Services Computing. As attested by Dr. Hui Ma of Cisco Systems --with whom Bastani worked on algorithms to solve complex optimization problems--Bastani is at the forefront of making significant contributions to artificial-intelligence-based heuristic optimization. Bastani has also worked in the UNT Computer Science laboratory of Dr.Yan Huang.


Amanda Quay

Working in the analytical chemistry group of Dr. William Acree, Quay has co-authored six published studies, with applications, in some cases, that help predict which chemicals will best help decompose pharmaceutical waste in aquatic environments. Quay's research calculates the concentration at which a given drug molecule exhibits toxicity, providing insight into which pharmaceutical compounds pose an environmental risk to aquatic life. Quay's research also helps identify the most efficient way to decompose the most threatening of these compounds.


Mitchell Powell

While planning a career in neurobiology, Powell has demonstrated his research versatility by working in the computational chemistry laboratory of Dr. Angela Wilson to appreciate the foundations of biomedical compounds containing transition metals. Powell autonomously and effectively helped the Wilson research team determine the most accurate DFT (density functional theory) method for transition-metal heat-of-formation calculations by identifying and quantifying ten different candidate DFT methods known to yield reliable results for the energy properties of main-group molecules. There has been limited work in this area for transition metal species. As detailed by Wilson, Powell's research has contributed immensely to protocols for future heats-of-formation-of-transition-metal research.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108


Latest News

Jim Skinner
Friday, September 12, 2014

Leaders in business will speak about careers, leadership skills and industry issues in the UNT College of Business' Distinguished Speaker Series, beginning this month with a lecture from Jim Skinner, executive vice president, chief operating officer and chief financial officer of Neiman Marcus Group.

Schoenberg family photographs
Friday, September 12, 2014

A collection of UNT College of Music-affiliated instrumentalists and singers, will perform the challenging work of Arnold Schoenberg, an Austrian composer considered one of the most important musical contributors of the 20th century.

Friday, September 12, 2014

This fall, UNT students are designing and implementing an adult literacy program -- called the Extensive Reading Program -- in collaboration with the Denton Public Library, thanks to a grant from the Dollar General Literacy Foundation.

Richard Dixon
Thursday, September 11, 2014

UNT Distinguished Research Professor Richard Dixon will serve on a committee examining the history, safety, benefits and drawbacks of genetically modified crops around the world.

Angela Wilson
Thursday, September 11, 2014

UNT Regents Professor of Chemistry Angela Wilson has been named the 2015 Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal recipient. The honor recognizes top women chemists for distinguished service and contributions to the field of chemistry.