Ten scholarships available to UNT's Mayborn Writer's Conference

Thursday, May 20, 2010

DENTON (UNT), Texas – Are you a student who would like to interact with some of the top literary nonfiction writers in the country at the University of North Texas’ Literary Nonfiction Conference, but aren’t sure that you can afford registration? If so, you might be interested in applying for one of the conference’s scholarships.

This year, the conference, which has hosted the likes of Bob Shacochis, Susan Orlean and Joyce Carol Oates, will feature celebrated memoirist Mary Karr, screenwriter and author Mark Bowden and “Sports Illustrated” writer Gary Smith. The conference will be held July 23-25 at the Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center in Grapevine.

Scholarships include registration, some meals and two nights of lodging. Five scholarships will be awarded in each of the following categories:

The Dallas Morning News Minority Student Scholarship

The Dallas Morning News provides scholarships to minority college students. Applicants must be enrolled in high school, community college or a university with a minimum of a 3.0 grade point average and must attend the entire weekend of the Mayborn Conference.

"We're pleased to be able to offer this experience to promising students who have an interest in learning more about long form writing," said Bob Mong, editor of The Dallas Morning News.

The Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference Scholarship

The Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference Scholarship is open to any student enrolled in a community college or university, who has at least a 3.0 GPA. They also must be able to attend the entire weekend of the Mayborn conference.

Applicants must submit:

  • A completed application
  • A one-page letter on why you want to attend the Mayborn Conference
  • Two reference letters
  • A writing sample, published or not, maximum of 1000 words

All applications are due June 14. Winners will be notified via e-mail by June 25. The applications can be accessed at http://themayborn.unt.edu/Conf_Scholarships.htm and can be mailed to the Frank W. Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism, 1155 Union Circle #311460, Denton, TX 76203. Applications can also be faxed to 940-369-8959.

For more information contact Jo Ann Ballantine at or 940-565-4778.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108


Latest News

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

For the second year in a row, UNT's College of Information had more students selected as American Library Association Spectrum Scholars than any other library and information science program at a Texas college or university.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Half of incoming freshmen take advantage of Eagle Express Tuition plan

Jo Ann Beard
Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Novelist and essayist Jo Ann Beard will open the University of North Texas' 2014-2015 Visiting Writers Series with a reading on Sept. 25 (Thursday). She will be followed by poet and essayist Dan Beachy-Quick, who will host a reading on Oct. 7 (Tuesday).

Aditya Vaidya
Monday, September 15, 2014

Aditya Vaidya is conducting advanced engineering research at the University of North Texas that could help cities better manage mosquito-borne illness outbreaks. Vaidya is just 16-years-old.