Students premiere original musical scores in annual Faulk Scholars Concert

Faulk Sch
From left to right in the back row: Mark Scott, Nick Bober, Ethan Hayden; in the front row: Jing Wang Photo credit: Vanessa Mendoza/UNT
Wednesday, January 30, 2008

What: Spectrum: 5th Annual Richard and Candace Faulk Scholars Concert at the University of North Texas -- Four of UNT's top music composition students present original works in concert

When: 8 p.m. Feb. 11 (Monday)

Where: Merrill Ellis Intermedia Theater, Music Building, southeast corner of Avenue C and Chestnut Street

Cost: Free

Contact: Dr. Joseph Klein, (940) 565-4926 or

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- From bongos and tin cans to an unusual piece for string quartet, the 5th annual Richard and Candace Faulk Scholars Concert features works of four of UNT's top music composition students.

The music of Nick Bober, Ethan Hayden, Mark Scott and Jing Wang will be performed at 8 p.m. Feb. 11 (Monday) in the Merrill Ellis Intermedia Theater in the UNT Music Building, southeast corner of Avenue C and Chestnut Street. Admission is free.

The Faulk Scholars Concert is made possible by a five-year $50,000 commitment from environmental attorney Richard Faulk, who earned a music degree in composition from UNT in 1974. Faulk's support provides scholarships for up to four music composition students a year. In addition, the scholarship allows for the production of an annual SPECTRUM concert featuring works composed by the Faulk scholars. SPECTRUM is a concert series featuring new solo and chamber works composed by students.

Faulk, who lives in Houston with his wife Candace, continues to compose music. He will provide the introductory remarks at the concert.

Bober's piece, Dilated Reconstitution for DVD stereo audio with diffusion and projector, is the second movement of what will be a three-movement video piece composed with Stephen Lucas. The piece combines real-world and electronically generated sounds and images. Bober's String Quartet No. 1 focuses on nontraditional techniques for string quartets. 

Bober, a master's composition student and teaching assistant for the Center for Experimental Music and Intermedia at UNT, has composed for traditional ensembles and electro-acoustic mediums.  In the spring of 2006, he was awarded the Outstanding Undergraduate Composition Student Award for the 2005-2006 school year at UNT.

Hayden's Clicks and Beeps -- a piece for wood block, temple blocks, claves, bongos, timbales, tin cans, brake drum and marimba -- involves differing ostinato patterns. He drew inspiration from techniques of 20th-century American composers, including Steve Reich, Henry Cowell and John Cage. His piece Anamnesis -- a Greek word meaning "loss of forgetfulness" -- was composed in Fall 2007 for brass quintet.

Hayden, a 2003 graduate of Pottsboro High School in Pottsboro, Texas, plans to graduate with a bachelor of music degree in composition and theory in May.  At UNT, he has been active as a composer and performer, performing in various groups such as the Nova ensemble and African drumming ensemble and working as a musician at area churches.

Mark Scott's Improbable Edges pairs the oboe with a different muted sound of the trombone in each movement. His piece Dawn Treader for flute and piano was influenced by C.S. Lewis' The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, the fifth of seven novels in his Chronicles of Narnia series.

A Houston native, Scott will graduate from UNT in May with dual degrees in composition and trombone performance. Scott was a winner of the 2006 UNT Concerto Competition as a composer and a finalist as a trombonist in 2007. Also in 2007, his ‘spectives for eight trombones won the annual Iowa Trombones composition contest. His works have been performed by the Richardson Symphony, National Taiwan Youth Orchestra, UNT Symphony Orchestra and Wind Symphony and by students of euphonium virtuoso Brian Bowman in the United States and Japan.

The first movement, titled Hé, of Jing Wang's String Quartet pays homage to contemporary composers György Ligeti and Witold Lutoslawski. The Chinese character "Hé" can be interpreted as "harmonious," "chimes in with" or "echo" and represents the musical interchange between soloist and group. Her other piece, The Distant Horizon (for modern dancers), was commissioned by the Dance

Department at Northern Illinois University and composed for computer music and modern dancers. The original samples include female voice, cello, Thai flute and percussion instruments.

Wang, a composer and virtuoso erhu artist, received her bachelor of music degree from China Central Conservatory of Music in 1996 and master of music degree from Northern Illinois University in 2003. She is pursuing a doctoral degree in composition at UNT. Her compositions have been presented in China, Spain, France, Italy and the United States. They have been recognized by the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers and Electro-acoustic Miniatures International Contest, Spain. She was the winner of the 2006 Pauline Oliveros Prize given by the International Alliance for Women in Music.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108