Gov. Perry appoints three new members to UNT System Board of Regents

Gwyn Shea
Board of Regents member.
Board of Regents member.
Don Buchholz
Board of Regents member.
Thursday, November 15, 2007

DENTON (UNTS), Texas -- Three new members join the University of North Texas System Board of Regents as a result of Gov. Rick Perry's appointments for the UNT System's governing body.

The governor named Don Buchholz of Dallas, Gwyn Shea of Irving and Jack A. Wall of Dallas as the UNT System's newest regents. All will serve until May 2013. Buchholz, Shea and Wall will respectively replace Bobby Ray, Burle Pettit and Marjorie Craft, whose terms expired this past May. Buchholz, Shea and Wall were sworn in as regents by U.S. District Judge David Godbey in a ceremony on Nov. 14.

Don A. Buchholz is Chairman of the Board of Directors of SWS Group, a publicly owned holding company with subsidiaries engaged in providing securities clearing, securities brokerage, investment banking and investment advisory services. Buchholz co-founded SWS Securities (formerly Southwest Securities) as a Dallas-based securities broker/dealer and New York Stock Exchange member firm in 1972. He also serves on the Board of Directors of Southwest Securities Bank, a wholly owned subsidiary of SWS Group, and U.S. Home Systems, a leading manufacturer, designer and marketer of custom quality specialty home improvement products.

Professionally, Buchholz is an allied member of the New York Stock Exchange and an associate member of the American Stock Exchange. He previously served as a member of the Board of Governors of the New York Stock Exchange. He also served on the boards of directors of the Securities Industry Association and the National Association of Securities Dealers.

Buchholz currently serves as an Advisory Director for Security Bank, Garland, Texas, and as a member of the Dallas County Community College Foundation Board. Buchholz also serves as a director on the UNT Foundation Board as well as on the board of advisors for the UNT College of Business Administration.

Buchholz formerly was a licensed C.P.A. He earned a bachelor of business administration degree from the University of North Texas and received UNT's "Outstanding Alumnus Service Award" in 1999 and the "Distinguished Alumnus Award" in 2001.

Gwyn Shea served as Texas' secretary of state -- the top elections official in the state -- from 2002 to 2003. First elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 1982, Shea represented the Irving area for the next 10 years. As a legislator, she served on the Ways and Means, Insurance, County Affairs and House Administration committees. During that time, she received numerous civic honors, including the 1992 Texas Chamber of Commerce Legislative Leadership Award for outstanding public service, the Texas Municipal League Legislator of the Year award in 1989 and the "Red Ribbon Award" by the Texas Association of Concerned Taxpayers.

Shea also is a past president of the Texas Healthy Kids Corporation. First appointed as Constable for

Dallas County Precinct 2 in 1993, she was later elected to the position in 1994, 1996 and 2000. As constable, Shea returned more than $1 million annually to local merchants in "hot check" restitution and post-judgment collection cases.

She also was appointed to the Texas Workers Compensation Insurance Facility Governing Committee by then-Gov. George W. Bush in 1995.

A certified police officer, Shea attended the University of North Texas and Dallas Baptist University and graduated from the Dallas Baptist University Police Academy. Prior to being elected to the Texas House of Representatives, she served 10 years as administrative assistant to state Rep. Bob Davis.

Shea also has been active in numerous civic organizations, serving as a legislative counselor for the American Legion Boys State since 1983 and on the advisory boards of the Irving Intervention Center, Irving Cares, Inc. and Irving Healthcare Foundation. Shea is the mother of two adult children and grandmother of two.

Jack A. Wall is a rancher and investor. Previously, he served as branch manager, partner and senior vice president of J.C. Bradford/UBS Paine Webber of Dallas. Prior to that, he was with Epper, Guerin & Turner/Principal Financial Securities for 28 years, beginning as a broker and concluding as executive vice president and member of the board of directors for the securities firm and its holding company.

Wall is a former allied member of the New York Stock Exchange and the Securities Industry Association, and served as the Bulls Roundtable chair for the association in 1991. He is also a former council member and deputy mayor for the city of Sherman.

Wall is a director of the UNT Foundation and serves on its investment committee. He is also a member of the board of advisors for UNT's College of Business Administration and the UNT President's Council. Wall earned a bachelor of business administration degree from UNT.

Wall also serves as a director of the Downtown Dallas YMCA and sits on its foundation investment committee. Previously, he served as the chairman of community services and major gifts for the Downtown Dallas YMCA and was a director of the Dallas Opera.

In addition to the appointees, the UNT System's current regents are Gayle W. Strange of Denton (chairman), Charles D. Mitchell, M.D. of Dallas, Robert A. Nickell of Dallas, Al Silva of San Antonio, C. Dan Smith of Plano, and Rice M. Tilley of Fort Worth. Diana Schulz of Fort Worth was appointed as the UNT System's second student regent in February 2007.

UNT News Service Phone Number: (940) 565-2108